ReInvent Law Silicon Valley 2013 – A New Hope

ReInvent Law Silicon Valley 2013 was the most important experience of my law school career. It opened my eyes to new and exciting opportunities within the legal services industry that I had never considered before. As a result, I have a renewed sense of optimism and look forward to the future rather than dread it.

Before I attended ReInvent Law I was driven by two competing emotions, fear and excitement. On one hand, the challenges facing the legal services industry excited me. When there is uncertainty and risk there is usually a substantial opportunity to create value and make money. But on the other hand, I was scared that I would never be able to develop the skills or accumulate the resources necessary to take advantage of these opportunities. This fear was fueled by the fact that many innovative companies were already making substantial headway (e.g. the rapid growth and profitability of firms such as Axiom and Pangea3). But I now realize that my fears were unwarranted and counterproductive.

Yoda

“Fear is the path to the dark side. Fear leads to anger. Anger leads to hate. Hate leads to suffering.”

This is just the beginning. There are still a large number of untapped opportunities that exist within this industry. And to paraphrase Professor Katz, “the future is already here, [BUT] it is just not evenly distributed yet.” This means we still have time to position ourselves such that we can take advantage of rather than be destroyed by the tectonic shifts occurring within the legal services industry. In other words, we are not dead in the water. . . yet!

My new found hope is tempered only by the realization that it will take an extreme amount of hard work and diligence in order to be successful. From now on I will need to make real progress every day. What is “real progress”? Real progress is constantly learning and acquiring new valuable skills. Most importantly, real progress is developing products and/or processes that create value for the consumers of legal services, whether they be normal individuals or large corporations.

Therefore, as the future distributes itself I will be diligently preparing for the true tipping point.

Specifically I will:

  1. Read 1 new book relating to the business of providing legal services every month.
  2. Teach myself how to program in HTML, CSS3 and Ruby.
  3. Consistently update and improve this blog
  4. Manage my money well and live frugally
  5. Find and interact with other innovative and creative people that inspire me

I traveled from Austin, TX to Mountain View, CA to attend ReInvent Law Silicon Valley 2013. That is roughly 1,728 miles. But . . . THE REAL JOURNEY BEGINS TODAY! – GET HYPE!

 

Disruptive Legal

One thought on “ReInvent Law Silicon Valley 2013 – A New Hope

  1. I would strongly recommend you start your book reading with “The Innovators Dilemma” by Clayton Christensen. He is the one that originated the the theory of disruption and describes it in detail in his book through several case studies. When most people talk about disruptive innovation they are really talking about sustaining innovations, efficiency innovation, or just technology innovations. Disruptive Innovations are a distinct type of innovation. The book will help you see that and probably comfort you even more in knowing that even the mightiest incumbent in an industry can be taken down by a less quality, less expensive innovation.

Leave a Reply

